top of page

15 years on: an introduction to the history of the Eagles



Hi,

I am Richard Gray (that's me as labelled above). Most in ice hockey know me as Rambo.

15 years ago I started my LLB at the University of Edinburgh. Having fractured a vertebrae in my spine playing rugby in my last year at high school, I decided to go back to ice hockey. On looking through the tonnes of literature we received from the uni, I saw that an ice hockey team was in the works and, if interested, you were to contact Amy Slater (more on later posts).

15 years on, I am running Scotland’s first University team for Women, the Caledonia Steel Queens and the Eagles are being coached by Matt Dible. So much has changed in those 15 years and this blog series aims to provide you with the history of the Eagles, including more detailed narratives on the 25 best (according to me) Eagles of all time, which I will be tweeting advent style during December.

I am no longer an Eagles official, but I’ll never really leave. I hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and memories, as much as I enjoyed living them and as much as I will enjoy writing them.

Thanks


0 comments
bottom of page